Home > life > My Academy Award Winning Oscar Speech

My Academy Award Winning Oscar Speech

People always have those moments where you act as if you were the batter in the World Series, 3 balls, 2 strikes, 2 outs, bases loaded, down by three. Of couse you hit a grand slam, duh! That was one of my dreams as a kid. Being an athletic kid, I also thought about hitting the game winning shot in the NBA finals, a Super Bowl winning touchdown catch, or a putt to win a PGA major.

Until tonight, I never dreamed about what I would say as the winner of an Oscar. As I watched the 82nd Academy Awards, I thought to myself ‘if I won tonight, what would I say?’

Here is the transcript of my speech (note, I do not get cut off by the music, it is my dream).

‘Tonight, a dream came true. Not necessarily just my dream, but a dream of countless others who have invested their time to me. This award goes to them.

I would like to thank my family: my Mom, for raising me how she did, for teaching me to never settle. Thank you.

I would like to thank Amanda, who during our short time together, has been as supportive as one can be. Thank you.

I must thank the doubters out there… this reaches most all of you who have known me, so give yourselves a pat on the back. I was never fortunate enough to have a lot of people unconditionally believe in or trust me. Maybe I should be thankful for them… they helped shape me to who I am today.

Not everyone is as driven by doubt as I am. I was able to channel anyone’s doubt into energy that helped me succeed at anything I touched.

For those out there who do not have that drive, they need someone to have faith, to have trust, and to believe in them. Please believe in someone. There is someone right now who is close to you who needs someone to believe in them. There are people out there far greater than I ever will be who need only one person there to be behind them. If you believe in someone, the possibilites are endless. Please believe.

Believe. Love. Respect. Trust. Follow that, and this world, someday, may get its head out of the sand.

Thank you all.’

That’s my speech. What would you say in your speech?

~Jason

  1. March 8, 2010 at 1:54 AM

    Jason, I don’t think I could have put it any better 🙂 Wonderful speech. Standing ovation, fasho. Except you forgot to add a shout out to the argyle crew? What the….I don’t even KNOW you anymore!? lol.
    Bravo.
    Erica

    • March 8, 2010 at 2:40 PM

      Erica: Crap! I definitely did not go back to my roots! Well, good thing it was only a dream. When it happens for real, I will make sure to add that. Plus, I won’t be able to forget, as I will be in an argyle suit!

      Jonny: I didn’t consider any of that. I was hoping that I would be carried to the stage. And don’t they put your speech on a teleprompter?

  2. March 8, 2010 at 1:14 PM

    Enjoyed the speech buddy. My primary concerns: tripping on the step on the way up to the podium, blanking on my speech, and the music queuing me after 5 seconds.

    Get ready to give that speech after you finish 26.2…trust me, it’s a crazy feeling.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment