Home > life, news, online marketing, technology > Breaking News: I have been banned from chatting on Facebook!

Breaking News: I have been banned from chatting on Facebook!

This is breaking news, brought to you by Jason Douglas.

After dinner at Fuji-Ya and working out with Katie, I arrived home, ready to relax and do a touch of work. On the way to relaxing, I load up facebook. Noticing a few friends online worth chatting with, I messaged one a simple ‘what up’; that’s when everything went wrong.

“You have exceeded the limit for messages on chat”

WHAT? I read their FAQ’s for an explanation:

“Facebook has determined that you were using a feature at a rate that is likely to be abusive. Before you were blocked, you were given a warning to slow down your use of this feature. For example, if you were blocked from sending friend requests, then we determined that you were adding new friends too quickly. Please be aware that further abuse of such features can result in your account being permanently disabled and removed from the site entirely.”

Also:

“Facebook has limits in place to prevent abuse of our features and to protect users from potential spam.”

One more hilarious note from the FAQ page:

“Facebook has several features in place to limit the potential for abusive or annoying behaviors on the site. One of these features is a cap on the speed and frequency at which a user sends messages to other users.

Please note that even if all of your conversations were legitimate interactions with friends, our message service is not a chat client, and should not be treated as such.

As a recommended alternative, we suggest you check out Facebook Chat…”

Facebook has features to limit the potential of annoying behaviors?  How about making the chat client work properly and not show a ‘red dot of death’!

Facts: I never received a warning to slow down.  I am not spam.  I had not been on facebook since 5pm, notified of my ban at 10:20pm; how can I be overusing something I’m not logged into.

I am still able to write on walls, update my status, comment on other statuses.  I am unable to chat.  GARBAGE!

This is something that is unheard of.  I have honestly never heard of anyone being banned from just chatting on facebook.  Is this a first?  Have you had or heard of a similar experience from a friend?

Facebook chat, thank you for FAILING once again!

For more information, go to facebook’s FAQ’s

~J

twitter: @jasondouglas

  1. @kareemy
    January 30, 2009 at 12:13 AM

    i broke the tph – tweets per hour during my tweet spree and they blocked me from posting for an hour! silly limits.

  2. Rach
    January 30, 2009 at 8:57 AM

    Is this what was happening to us the other day when I called you and told you it wouldn’t let me send you a message? How totally bizarre is this?!?!?

  3. Kristin Vassallo
    January 30, 2009 at 3:27 PM

    FB needs to keep up with the rate that people communicate. Lots of us during work like to chat, and we chat a lot. I think they’d be shocked to see some of the email streams I’m a part of each day. DURING WORK! Come on FB….

    On a separate note Doja – I would consider not black background/white type. Hurty my eyeballs.

  4. Stephanie
    January 30, 2009 at 4:04 PM

    THIS HAPPENED TO ME TOO!!! I was like wtf! But my ban was writing on walls! I couldn’t do it for like 3 days! I never got a warning either! And last I checked facebook is a way to keep in touch with others and communicate with them! Yet we are limited to the amount of interaction we do?! WOW kill us for being social people.

  5. January 30, 2009 at 4:54 PM

    I knew that Facebook wants you to use the actual Chat client for chatting, but I’ve never heard of a limit for the web-based chat.

  6. January 30, 2009 at 5:23 PM

    I had never heard of any limit associated with facebook. It happened, I am back, and hope it never happens again. It was one of the worst few hours of my life! It felt like I was back in 1998!

  7. Marcea Flowers
    June 7, 2009 at 5:38 PM

    I was just barred from chatting as well. I do type fast. I am not sure if that is what set it off. But I was just mugged in Madrid this weekend and have no phone or other way to communicate with my family and friends at home in the states….This timing really sucks. I was NOT abusing anyone…I was making sure my friends knew I was ok.

    Marcea

  8. June 15, 2009 at 7:27 PM

    I had the same problem recently 😦

  9. Matt
    August 13, 2009 at 6:34 PM

    I have also been banned, except it has been 6 days now and they still have not lifted the ban!! I’ve tried to find a way to contact them to raise my concern, but it’s almost impossible. I just cannot justify how they can ban people for chatting to often?? Man, maybe i’ll stick with bebo after all..

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

