Home > current events, news, online marketing, technology > Skittles; Extreme Site Makeover

Skittles; Extreme Site Makeover

Go to skittles.com, and tell me what you see.

If it is still how it was at 4am cst, you will see it is the twitter feed (search.twitter.com) for skittles.  Take a few minutes to enter your age, and  determine whether or not this is a good/bad thing.

After viewing their homepage, I tweeted:

“Interesting concept by Skittles; on my own, trying to figure out why this is good and/or bad. #skittles”.

I refreshed skittles.com and found my tweet on the homepage; pretty cool, right?

After seeing myself on the homepage, a thought came through my head: what is this showing everyone?  Skittles has no content generated by Skittles; all the content, with the exception of the skittles widget, on the homepage is user generated.  Our thoughts and conversations are what is representing Skittles on their site.  From what I know, this is fairly groundbreaking to publicize the conversation that is out there about a brand. The free publicity they will receive in the following days will make this marketing initiative well worth it.

The question I pose to you: Does this mean that the conversation about a product, brand, or service is now more important than the website of that product, brand, or service?

~Jason Douglas

twitter: @jasondouglas


  1. itsureiscoldupnorth
    March 2, 2009 at 4:38 AM

    Hey Jason,

    Nice thoughts mate. I think it is a bold move from them. I am starting to push social to my clients way more than before and they are enjoying the results.

    Mike

  2. March 2, 2009 at 5:04 AM

    I think this is more just a Brand awareness thing. Imagine how crazy the web’s going right now with people twittering, blogging and visiting the site.

    I do wonder what their long-term goal is though? http://tinyurl.com/skittlestwitter

    Dan @ http://www.thoughtden.co.uk

  3. March 2, 2009 at 1:38 PM

    Jason,

    I think it is some sort of genius for a huge brand like Skittles. I talked about Skittles just the other day in a tweet by coincidence. Now, being the first (maybe only?) brand to do this, the page needs to be updated every 15-20 seconds to keep up.

    The conversation is definitely more important than the website. Everybody has always said “the website can be great, and nobody could buy a single thing.” The conversation however, is about buying the product (well, not today…). The conversation is about why others should buy the product. Nobody payed (most of) these people to say anything. Skittles has activated word of mouth and connected those willing to advocate (or bash) with those willing to check out the website.

  4. Liz
    March 2, 2009 at 6:49 PM

    Taking a part out of Groundswell reminds us that a brand is whatever the consumers decide of it now, and this is Skittles’ attempt at embracing that and I love the idea. While I think this is creative and interesting, I’m still not sure how I feel. It was confusing for me at first, and I consider myself very well acquainted with the social web. The user interface isn’t great (in my opinion) and what about all the people who still don’t know what Twitter is?

    So I guess I have mixed feelings. I think it is, as you say Jason, groundbreaking and I applaud them for being daring and creative with this. It will be interesting to see is if and how the site evolves from here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

