Home > half-marathon training, life > Spring Is Here: Take Two Steps Back

Spring Is Here: Take Two Steps Back

It’s an interesting title to use for a blog.  Most people associate the arrival of spring as a step or two forward.  There is a saying regarding daylight savings time: ‘fall back, spring ahead’.  With the recent heatwave to hit the Minneapolis area (Hopkins specifically), I was hoping to start running outside.

Today brought 54 degree weather, sunny, and a small breeze.  Today was the day that training outdoors for the half-marathon would begin.

I didn’t have a goal set for how long I would run, distance and time.  My goal was to just get out and see how it felt to run against the wind, with the wind, not on a treadmill, and most importantly: how would my lungs feel.

I have run outdoors in the past, and have encountered the same issues when I start running outside: heavy lungs, dry mouth, a clearing of the nasal pasages.

Today was no different.

It has been since October since I had run outside; that was in different conditions and a different situation.  Then, I was happy to finally be active after my wrist ordeal.  Today; there is  a goal motivating me.

I made it a mile before I had to stop.  Not good for someone who has 13.1 to run on May 31.

Positives:

  • No side aches!  I did not think this was possible.   Maybe it has to do something with getting fresh air in the body.
  • My legs felt good as they have throughout this process
  • I was running outside and not on a treadmill; need more of that since the race is not indoors
  • I did continue running after a 3 minute walk, about a half mile, until everything went south again

Negatives

  • My lungs were heavy; it felt like I had a two-pack-a-day habit
  • The dry mouth was pretty poor; I kept hacking up a lung after a half-mile
  • Running outside made me feel like everything I have done to this point was for nothing, hence the title of the blog

Today allowed me to realize that I am nowhere near where I need to be to achieve my goal on May 31.  Sobriety a half-hearted adjustment on my diet, and a workout that I have not committed to 100% will only allow my doubters to be right, and that can not happen.  That can not happen.

This is the wake up call I needed.  The disappointing things here are that I allowed this to happen, allowed the doubters to feel that they finally got me and were right, that all the work I have done and steps I have taken forward have not been enough.  I will not allow failure to happen.

Until next time.

~Jason Douglas

twitter: @jasondouglas

  1. Liz
    March 15, 2009 at 9:43 PM

    I think it’s awesome that you are being so honest with yourself and everyone else Jason. You can do it buddy. Keep working hard and you won’t fail!

  2. Jen Hanson
    March 15, 2009 at 10:57 PM

    Jason, you can do this!! Keep goin’… 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

