Home > half-marathon training, life > Outdoor Running Day Two

Outdoor Running Day Two

Yesterday brought me a wake-up call with my half-marathon training.  Things just did not go well in my first outdoor run this year.

Today brought an opportunity for me to redeem myself, to show myself that I am not as far off as I was yesterday.  Then again, after yesterday’s performance, it would be near impossible to do worse today.

I got home from meeting friends at happy hour just in time to get my run in before sundown.   I stretched, I stretched again, then went on my way.

Highlights:

  • I ran at least a half-mile further without stopping
  • My lungs were not as heavy, very little hacking up
  • No sideaches, again!
  • I could have gone further; I need to HTFU (if you know what that means, two bonus points for you)
  • I did run about a half-mile after walking for a few minutes
  • I did a push-up and sit-up workout after the run

Lowlights:

  • I stopped earlier than I should have, I need to HTFU
  • I need to not be afraid to go further; keep running!  1.5-2 miles may be ‘ok’ right now, that’s not going to cut it in a week

Overall, today was 100 times better than yesterday.  I am enjoying running outside the last two days more than any of the time I have spent on a treadmill so far this year.  I can only hope that the weather continues to hold up.

Tomorrow, I have to decide on going to my bosses house for St. Patrick’s Day dinner, or running after work.

What should I do?

~Jason Douglas

twitter: @jasondouglas

  1. kristin
    March 17, 2009 at 9:46 AM

    you should get a running buddy. invaluable in training 🙂

    • March 17, 2009 at 9:58 AM

      I definitely want one; A has mentioned being one. I just want to get more comfortable going longer distances, so I don’t hold my running buddy back. Good idea though!

  2. March 17, 2009 at 10:59 AM

    A running partner will definitely help as well as a great play list. It is so much easier with a playlist that will make you forget about your breathing, tiredness and distance. This also helps when working on time. If you know where you are at in running a mile you can speed your playlist up to faster paced songs that will assist you in your flow.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

