Home > half-marathon training, life > Outdoor Running: Week One Recap

Outdoor Running: Week One Recap

Last Sunday, I began running outside in my training for the half-marathon.  I would have liked to begin running outside sooner, but wussed out because I did not want to run in negative degree cold weather.  I did not think that I would have to train my body to run in those conditions for a race on May 31.

In one week, eight days actually, I went from barely making it a mile to running around Lake Calhoun.  Progress is always nice; it keeps people motivated.

Highlights of the eight day period:

  • Ran six of eight days
  • last three runs were at least two miles, with yesterday’s run around Lake Calhoun was arounr 3.5 to 3.7 miles of running (new record)
  • minimal side aches; the ones I get I an easily run through

What I learned:

  • running with someone does help; thanks to those who suggested that
  • a large majority of runners on Lake Calhoun are visually pleasing; I hope I add to that 🙂
  • only serious runners apply: the runners at Lake Calhoun are there to run, not socialize.
  • I might be breathing wrong; was doing in the nose, out the mouth.  Running buddy Caitlin suggested I breathe in and out the mouth: more oxygen, fewer cramps and sideaches
  • slow down my pace = running further.  Speed will come with time.

My plan from today until race day is to run two days, rest one.  Today is a rest day, which is a blessing with how the weather is today.  If by the end of the month, I can get to running around 4-5 miles with ease, my confidence will be very high going into the next month of training.

I hope to get a group of people to run with at least once a week, most likely on a weekend.  It sounds like that there are quite a few people in my core group of friends that are all about running.

Thanks to everyone supporting me!

~Jason Douglas

twitter: @jasondouglas

  1. March 23, 2009 at 11:22 AM

    Keep up the good work! I’m more motivated than ever to get in the habit again. Its such a release from…everything ha. We’re all rooting for you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

