Home > life, running, sports > Why Do I Run?

Why Do I Run?

Someone asked me recently why I run? Good question. Here are my answers:

  • I run to get in shape
  • I run to get to the finish line
  • I run to prove to myself that I can
  • I run because others cannot
  • I run to get away from you, from myself, from everything
  • I run to clear my mind (though it has yet to work)
  • I run to separate myself from my past
  • I run for you

I like questions similar to what I was asked recently; it helps you think about why you are doing what you do. Every action has at least one reason.

Why do you run?

Why do you do whatever it is you do?

~Jason Douglas

Jason Douglas on twitter

Jason Douglas on facebook

Jason Douglas on LinkedIn

Jason Douglas on You Tube

Categories: life, running, sports Tags: ,
  1. amy
    August 9, 2009 at 12:51 PM

    Great reasons for why you run. I share many of the same motivators/reasons.

    Amy
    blog.runnerslounge.com
    http://www.runnerslounge.com

  2. Liz L.
    August 16, 2009 at 1:28 AM

    I run to make sure I don’t get fat, to de-stress and to be able to sleep at night. I think I have the same problem that you have with the constant stream of thoughts (and the lack of being able to turn them off). Running definitely wears me out so that at night, maybe just for a minute, my brain will allow me to relax.

    Have you ever thought of using dailymile.com to track your training? I like to get people’s thoughts on that website. I’m not 100% convinced that I like it.

    • August 16, 2009 at 3:28 AM

      I have not looked at dailymile.com; I like the idea of actually tracking training instead of going by memory or how I feel on a given day. I’ll check it out.

      How’s everything going in SD?

      • Liz L.
        August 16, 2009 at 2:11 PM

        I use dailymile.com and, for the most part, I do like it. There are just a couple of small things that I would change. For example, when you post your run, they let you type in the exact time it took, but when it shows up on the site, they round the time up (while keeping your pace in tact). I also don’t like the fact that when you add friends, your homepage is overwhelmed by all of their activity. Very minor things, so you should check it out. What’s your next race? I just signed up for a 5k in October, a 10k in November and am eyeing a half in January.

        SD is treating us well! Keeping us in good shape (Mike with rockclimbing, me with running). We’re both working full-time and enjoying the weather, so no complaints. How’s MN treating you? I heard the summer was sort of strange this year (weather-wise).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

