Home > life, online marketing, social media > Minneapolis, St. Paul, Thank You! Now, Let’s Collaborate!

Minneapolis, St. Paul, Thank You! Now, Let’s Collaborate!

Yesterday was one of the more interesting and fulfilling days I have had as a professional. Most of us know about #Unfollowgate. If not; check out my previous post on #Unfollowgate and its impact on the Minneapolis and St. Paul online community.

Between the hundreds of views, 18 comments, numerous public tweets, re-tweets, even more direct messages, and even some text messages and calls, the outpouring of support for me was astonishing. Thank you all very much for that.

I want to get away from #Unfollowgate and move onto the larger issue: how to make the Minneapolis and St. Paul online community more collaborative, more unified, and considered as a true leader in the online marketing space.

I have been going over what Chris Brogan said when he was here at the Minnesota Business/Reputations event, about our shortcomings as a community. It would have been easy for him to say ‘Minneapolis/St. Paul, y’all are great! Keep Truckin’!’ for a cheap pop. He did not do that, and I thank him for that. For him to say (paraphrasing) ‘you have the talent here, you don’t have the collaborative atmosphere’, and to call out Pittsburgh as his numer one community was gutsy. He travels and connects with enough people from each community where I trust his opinion more than others.

This should be a wake up call for our community. We do have the talent, we have the case studies, we have the clients, we have the passion (as was shown yesterday). How do we combine all that and more to help our community move to the head of the online marketing class?

Let’s start a discussion answering a few questions. As a community:

  • What are we doing right?
  • What are we doing wrong?
  • What are your concerns about the state of online marketing?
  • What do we want to do?
  • Where do we want to go?

Minneapolis, St. Paul, metro area, Minnesota: your thoughts?

  1. Tim Puyleart
    March 23, 2010 at 7:44 PM

    Jason,

    Good post. I am not a PR or marketing person per se, but because of my current role, I do lot of both. Initially, I started looking at Social Media as a way to get my brand out there and let people know who I am and what I am about. It didn’t take long for me to realize the incredible potential and opportunities that stem from SM.

    I had a presence on LinkedIn, but started to look at other options, Twitter included. Overall, I have to say my experiences with SM has been pleasant, productive, insightful, and has provided a lot of laughs.

    What has and does concern me is the underlying tone of not sharing, not playing nice with others, and a real lack of helping the newbies out. I have reached out directly to some folks that I thought would be great to bounce some ideas off of, or share some insight with and have gotten no response. Thankfully, this is not true for everyone, but it certainly sets the tone for those folks and my future interaction with them. I believe we should all collaborate, share ideas, talk about successes/failures and lend a hand to someone who asks.

    I am all for collaboration, mentoring and helping others and am extremely grateful to folks like Shelly Kramer and Robert Stanke who have taken the time to have discussions, bounce ideas or talk me off the cliff of canceling my online presence. Karma is a funny thing… and I know personally, the time I spend helping others comes back.

    Let’s all play nice and share the toys in the school yard. We are all cool kids in our ways…

    Tim

    • March 23, 2010 at 10:21 PM

      Hey Tim,

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

      There is a fine line between marketing and pr; if done right, they integrate with each other seamlessly.

      SM has given me an opportunity to connect with people I normally would never have met. I have connected with people from local TV stations, large medical device companies, a former NBA player, a grammy award winner, and countless people in the Minneapolis and St. Paul area through social media channels. Heck, I met my girlfriend because of a networking event I discovered on social media.

      I do believe that the sharing of ideas is abundant, but may be ‘clicky’ (is that the right spelling?). Your comment is inspiring a blog post and reminded me of something I discussed in an interview I did earlier this year. I thank you for that!

      My goal is to start/continue to collaborate to make our community better. Not only to produce better work, but to actually help out our communities, similar to what Erica Mayer is doing with her Charity Water initiative. How can we give back time, money, etc., that is not entirely self serving or competitive.

      Call me a dreamer, but we can all play nice in the school yard, and share our toys. Let’s do more of it!

      Jason

  2. March 24, 2010 at 8:35 AM

    Hi Jason,

    Great post and I must say I am completely on-board with your thinking in regards to how the Twin Cities can be more and more collaborative and act as a better community as a whole. I have been one of the biggest fan boys of the Twin Cities for a long time (having founded large networking groups exclusively for this area, giving my business to local partners over out-of-state ones, etc.). I will continue to endlessly promote all we have to offer here.

    That being said, we do tend to get a little bit of an ego in these parts when we start to get a little bit of attention and I know that has left some locals with a bitter taste in their mouth, which is where I agree with Tim on maybe getting a little “clicky” once in a while.

    This collaborative effort is achievable, but it is going to take more than several blog posts by you, me and others. It has to be an actual calculated cause, with direction and tactics.

    Finally, I want to thank Tim for mentioning me as being someone who has helped support his mission within social. He is a great guy I am happy to have met through this awesome online world.

    I have subscribed to your blog, Jason, and look forward to future thoughts!

    Bob Stanke

  3. March 26, 2010 at 2:36 PM

    Hey Tim,

    Thanks so much for sharing you post with me – and for the kind words. I’m a huge believer that you get out of this life what you put into it – and that includes the realm of social mediums. People all so easily forget that we were all newbies once and that we all started at zero friends, followers, connections, etc. and had to learn the ropes, understand the “rules” of each individual arena and learn to engage and interact accordingly. Funny how quickly that happens.

    I think it is incumbent up on those more knowledgeable to make time to help others on their way – and it also brings a certain sense of satisfaction to be able to make a contribution in this manner. Those who feel differently might well not belong in the world of social media, where it is less about “me me me” and more about “you you you.” Those who know that are, ultimately, the ones who experience the greatest satisfaction – and the greatest success.

    Thanks again for your kindness. It has been my pleasure getting to know you.

    Shelly Kramer
    @shellykramer
    http://v3im.com

  1. March 22, 2010 at 10:27 AM

Leave a Reply

