Home > life > 2011: A Year of Change and Learning. 2012: A Year of Finding.

2011: A Year of Change and Learning. 2012: A Year of Finding.

Entering 2011, I felt rather comfortable and happy with where things were in my life. I had an enjoyable, stable job. I had a great, stable relationship. I was healthy and looking forward to my second Grandma’s Marathon. I was ready for 2011 and everything it would bring.

I closed 2011 with a very new and enjoyable job. The great, stable relationship went a different direction and is no longer. Additional things and events made 2011 forgettable. Numerous people quit on me in 2011. It hurt. It sucked. It is something I will never forget. 2011 was not a complete wash. Every moment provides a learning experience.

What I learned in 2011:

  • I desperately need to learn how to relax and slow down at the right times.
  • I need to trust my instincts more and act on them. Too many times in 2011, my gut told me what was going on. For some reason, I rarely acted on my instincts and paid the price each time. For the record, my instincts were not wrong once.
  • While I communicate well in most situations, this is an area needing improvement in other aspects of life.
  • If you want to accomplish something, it needs to be a priority and some things will need to be sacrificed.
  • I learned so much about what I want out of myself, my family, friends and whoever I date next.
  • Often, I tell others to become more selfish. While giving is great, at some point you must consider yourself first. Jason, listen to yourself more.
  • I enjoy wearing glasses.

2012 is here and I could not be happier.

What will I do in  2012:

  • A bigger focus on my health. A healthy me will accomplish so much more.
  • A happy attitude in turning 30, or 29.2 🙂 It is better then the alternative.
  • Expand my horizons and enjoy more new experiences.
  • Get back into playing golf. It has been over two years since I have swung a club which is a gosh darn shame!
  • Expand my friendship base and network. I have said that I have too many friends. That has to be one of the dumbest statements to ever come out of my mouth.

2012 will be a better year than 2011 was. I am looking forward to new experiences, a new age and new memories. If you stick with me, I promise it will be worth your time.

Happy 2012 to you and yours!

Jason

Jason Douglas on Twitter

Jason Douglas on Facebook

Jason Douglas on LinkedIn

Categories: life Tags: , , ,
  1. Katy
    January 3, 2012 at 10:00 AM

    Totally agree with you on the listening to your instincts thing….looks like you learned a lot! After all, every year is a new experience and one more year that you have grown into the person you are today. Props to you my friend.

    PS I can’t believe you are going to be THIRTY this year!!

  2. January 3, 2012 at 11:23 AM

    Hey Jason with some of the things to work on…if you ever need a chat feel free! I went thru something similar many moons ago, you know because I am old. You have my info reach out anytime!

    Oh on a side not…the Ad in the blog post?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

